NYE

So, farewell then, 2010. And, frankly, good riddance. You started off as all years do, with the promise of great things. Given that you were the beginning of a new decade, expectations were even higher. I’m sorry to say that they weren’t met, and the general impression among my friends is the same. However, I suppose it’s all growing pains. You were the baby of the decade, after all. You’ve yet to grow into a… er… strapping 2019. So I won’t be too hard on you, shit though you most certainly have been. Instead I look forward to 2011 – the older, and hopefully wiser year ahead.

First off, congratulations to my One A Day compatriots, the awesome Mat Murray, the lovely Jennifer Allen, the indefatigable Ian Dransfield, and the rather cool Pete Davison. Some of you have already written the final entry of the 365 daily posts, and I think that a couple of you, like me, have a few days to go. All of you, however, are legends (as well as incredibly stubborn bar stewards), and one day we shall all meet up for a pint to celebrate a full year’s worth of pointless meanderings (in my case), and profound offerings (in yours). One day my blog will look as visually appealing as the others. Er… advice would be welcomed on that score.

New Year’s Resolutions, then. It is the 31st of December, after all. At this point I’d simply take a better year than this one, but since I’m all ambitious and stuff, I’ll say that I want an agent, a book deal, another novel in the can, and peace and goodwill for all men (and women, of course). Not a lot to ask for, then, eh?

As far as my own One A Day celebration in a couple of weeks is concerned, I think I’ll have a look back to see which few of my posts weren’t ball-breakingly average, and link you to them so that you can suffer them again, in some kind of Top 10 format. It would be Top 500, but (a) that would be impossible as there are only 365 days in a year, (b) I suspect I’ll barely spot 10 posts I’d subject you to for a second time, and (c) I don’t even know Jimmy Carr.

Happy New Year to all the readers of this blog and, to be inclusive, the many, many more who have never, ever seen it. I hope that you all have a great night, and I’m very much looking forward to seeing what 2011 will bring. See you on the other side.

1 Comment

Filed under One A Day

One response to “NYE

  1. Jen

    Thank you 🙂 And happy New Year to you too!

Leave a Reply

