Finally, A Good Day…

As regular readers of this blog will know, the last few weeks since I got back off holiday haven’t been especially happy ones for me – in fact, I’d go as far as saying that this has been the worst period of my life for quite some years.

However, today, maybe – just maybe – the bastard oil tanker known as “luck” may be starting to turn around. A fortnight ago, I emailed a literary agent who turned me down back in September but had asked me to revise and resubmit my novel. I explained to her that my redraft was done, told her how I’d fixed the problems she identified, and attached the first three chapters of my new draft. I wasn’t expecting to hear anything back from her before Christmas, and as I’d frankly limped to the R & R request and thought she may well have offered it just to be nice, I wasn’t exactly feeling particularly confident about my chances. So I was very happy this afternoon when an email arrived from her, asking for the rest of the manuscript.

There’s a long way to go yet – she still may not feel that the novel’s strong enough for her to represent, but at least I can say that I’m making progress again. What’s just as good is that the new novel I’m writing is coming together nicely in terms of what I think is an exciting premise and story, with cool characters and a pretty awesome high concept idea as a backdrop. I’m planning to work on it over Christmas, and with the big steps forward that I’ve made in the last quarter in terms of the quality of my writing (and a lot of the thanks for that has to go to my good friend, Sarah), I’m really excited about how the new novel will turn out. It’s going to be a good ‘un.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

