Short Story

I’ve typed everything up. I concentrated on the short story, as the deadline for that is 30 November. It took a while to get down (transferring from longhand is a bitch), so even though I haven’t done much else other than write today, I’m still not feeling ahead of myself. The new draft of Certainty had to take a bit of a back seat, but as there’s no real time pressure on that (other than what I give myself), I thought it best to sort out the short story first.

I have no idea whether it’s any good or not, and I’d like way more time to be able to polish it, but never mind. It feels interesting, and though I haven’t written a short story since school (yep, I went straight to novels and screenwriting for some reason) and have next to no idea about what makes a good one, I’m hoping that my lack of knowledge in this area will make it seem fresh. Hmmm.

It’s a story which involves wish fulfilment going horribly wrong, and the key will be whether I’m able to transfer what is a pretty personal subject across to a wider audience. The competition is for stories which fit into the boundaries of science-fiction, fantasy or horror, so my love for high concept in the real world fits perfectly. It was nice to write something that I could finish in a few days and have a nice beginning-to-end. Although my focus is definitely still the novels, I enjoyed writing this smaller piece of work a lot more than I thought I would, and so I may well think about writing more of them in the near future. Though, of course, I may well be told by my go-to author that it’s a complete disaster. We’ll see.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

