The Write Holiday

I’m increasingly getting the feeling that my holiday is actually going to be kinda important in writing terms. Two weeks without worrying about work is an ideal length of time to be thinking about and then writing about cool stuff. The only problem is working out exactly what to do.

I have a notebook. A writing notebook. From time to time I jot down various things relating to ideas, and then I forget about them. They’re lost. Until, of course, I open the notebook and read them again. The last time I did that was a bit of an “oh shit” moment, just in terms of how much stuff there was. What was surprising was how much of what was written down actually seemed… well… good. So I’m not lacking for potential ideas, which is actually an issue. With one idea, I can be vaguely focused. With a number, I’m all over the place. I need to pick one thing and then stick to it.

The options are pretty cool. The novel stuff is difficult but compelling. The sci-fi horror screenplay just has to be done. One of my friends is encouraging me to adapt a TV script I’ve written into a screenplay, and I need to sit down for an hour to figure out how to make it work. There are outlines way out of left field that I’m excited by.

I have often used the fact of full-time work as an excuse for why I’m not as prolific as I’d like. My holiday is an ideal opportunity to prove what I can do when unencumbered. I think it’s going to be a rather productive time, and I’m hopeful that I’m going to come out of it with something very sellable.

Leave a comment

Filed under Holiday, Uncategorized, Writing

Leave a Reply

