Retcon

Sometimes you’re so close to something that you can’t see the wood for the trees. Such is the case when it comes to my novel, Certainty. Arsing about with a revise and resubmit request for the past few weeks, I’ve been beholden to the existing structure. Luckily, one of my author friends today suggested something that immediately solved all of the issues. It made me feel somewhat rubbish, but at the same time it’s bloody hilarious that I’ve been thinking about the problem for so long and yet not worked out the pretty simple fix.

It requires a bit of retconning and ingenuity when it comes to certain parts of the narrative, but the real win isn’t just with the fixing idea. The successful author in question has chosen to dub me “amazingly talented”. Untrue right now, of course, but I’ll get there. Eventually. Maybe. And I definitely now know how to write my way out of the hole I’ve found myself in. So: a tribute to distance. It may well have solved (nay, made) my writing career. On Sunday I write it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

