Mojo

Oh dear. This writing lark doesn’t always go well, and sadly today was one of those days. When I woke up I kinda knew that anything I put on the page was going to be bollocks – I just had a feeling about it – and sadly this proved to be the case. What I wrote was slow and boring. It didn’t excite me at all. It was pretty lifeless, and nothing like what I wanted. I was writing within myself and it was just bad. I’m not one of those people who can power through such situations, and so I was reduced to sitting there trying to work out exactly why I couldn’t do it, and no answers were forthcoming. So I’m feeling pretty low this evening, as my mojo seems to have gone walkabout for the time being.

However, while I’m worried I’m not “worried” worried, if you see what I mean. Just turning up and expecting to be able to write something good off the cuff is always a long shot, and what I need to do is to properly think about everything and form a proper plan. In hindsight I should have done this before I started, but I was hopeful that my instincts would win the day. My mind’s been a bit befuzzled of late due to certain events, so it’s been difficult to form clear enough thoughts to work my way through the problems. Ah well. They’ll come.

So I now have to do a lot of brainstorming, identify the exact story and emotional beats I need to hit, and work out how to achieve them. While today wasn’t exactly fun I’m going to figure out what to do eventually. I’m convinced that when it happens I’ll know immediately. And then the writing process will hopefully go smoothly.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

