Rather Novel

So it’s the end of yet another week, and it’s been pretty incident-packed in terms of writing. My first full manuscript rejection (boo!) was followed by another full manuscript request (yay!), a glowing review of my novel from an author friend of mine (double yay!), and the decision to stop submitting to other agents until the few currently considering the novel have given their verdict. It was also spread via Twitter that those who get through to the second round of the Red Planet Prize will hear the news in mid-September, which gives me more time to polish my script just in case I advance.

This weekend I plan to attack my new novel in earnest. I’m very excited about writing it, although it promises to be pretty tough as the main protagonist is a man who doesn’t speak – or at least, not in any conventional sense. While there is a counterpoint – a female journalist heroine who certainly will speak (and the two characters meeting is the driving force behind the plot) – I’m still not entirely sure exactly how I’m going to write their relationship, and to be honest, I still only have the opening and a very rough outline.

I guess the best thing to do is to start writing and see what happens. But despite all the uncertainties, I reckon that it’s going to be a lot of fun discovering exactly who or what lies behind “The Man Who Shouldn’t Speak”.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

