It’s Been Emotional

Writing can be exhausting at times, and that’s certainly true of tonight. I’ve been tackling a structurally difficult bit of my pilot script, and after a couple of hours of tapping away I’ve decided to call it a night. As well as trying to get all my ducks in a row when it comes to making everything clear, concise and fast-moving, AND somehow also allowing scenes the space to mean something (breath), it’s been tiring for another reason.

An emotional reason.

I’ve written a rather upsetting sequence tonight, with my main character really being put through the ringer. Therefore I’ve had to imagine the same thing happening to me. Not nice. At one point I was nearly snivelling over the keyboard, so I must be getting there. This first draft stuff is likely to be just a very rough pass, though, as I have a horrible feeling that my script’s going to run a bit long (needs to last an hour), so it’s best to just figure everything out as best I can for now and move on, sorting out the minutiae later in the edit (AKA the complete and utter tearing apart and wondering how on Earth I wrote such shit. Well, that’s how it usually goes, anyway).

I’m over halfway through now, so I’m still on track to finish before my self-imposed deadline of the end of August. While this script is definitely one of the most challenging things I’ve ever decided to write (it has to be funny, pacey, heartbreaking, scary and have quoteworthy dialogue. On a budget), so far it’s turning out okay. At this point, that’s all I can hope for.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

