Technical Gremlins

A couple of weeks ago I promised you a new video blog with various bells and whistles. All of the individual elements of the blog are done, but unfortunately some technical problems have muddied the waters like your average BP oil slick. Basically I’ve recorded video links on my iPhone which I then hoped to cut together with… er… “stuff” and edit together in a video editing program, but these clips are in the MOV format and unfortunately lose their video/audio sync very quickly on my computer. Some clips go across just fine, others don’t, and there seems to be no rhyme or reason as to why. I’ve tried everything but I simply can’t make it work. So until I can banish these demons, there’s going to be no video blog. I didn’t want it to be just me speaking into a camera, I wanted it to be more interesting. Curses.

If anyone has any suggestions (I fear that it’s something to do with how unfast my PC is, unfortunately) then please get in touch. I need a video editing program which can handle multiple tracks of video, audio, commentary and images without giving my PC a coronary, and which is able to handle MOV files without making it look like a bad anime dub.

So I’ve come to the conclusion that I hate computers. They’re great when they work, but as I’m sure you’ll all have experienced at one time or another, when you fill up a bit too much of the hard drive, or try to make them do more than one thing a time, or open a big PDF document, when you really actually properly need something to work right there and then, it’s like they collapse on purpose just to screw you over.

“Mozilla Firefox is not responding”. Gaaaaaah.

“Adobe Acrobat is not responding”. Sdfjdbgfsdjhyusdfbsdjfbsdjbfbaaaaarrrgghhhh!!!!

I love it when the computer freezes entirely with the mouse cursor suddenly not moving, or when after booting (yeah, I’ll show you what a fucking BOOT is), it takes ten minutes before you can open a single program without the thing wheezing like Godfrey from Dad’s Army running from Earth to Mars. Yes, this all happens much more on the work laptop than my home PC, but it’s amazing how cleverly computers can read your mood and really try to wind you up. All I want is for a few bloody clips to be in sync.

I’m starting to think that the Luddites were right.

Leave a comment

Filed under Technology

Leave a Reply

