Status Report

I’ve been at this blogging lark for over 90 days now, writing at least a post a day. Some of them have been embarrassingly shit, but a few of them I look back at and am rather fond of. I’ve been trying hard to keep the content compelling (which is difficult when writing entries late at night, as I’m so often doing), but my main reason for joining One A Day was to reinforce the writing habit that’s so easy to lose after a long day at work. I used to be the world’s worst procrastinator, but I think I may well have to relinquish my title to someone more deserving. And when I say deserving, I mean lazy.

Since joining this merry band of bloggers, I’ve seen us picked off one by one like chicken nuggets at a kid’s birthday party, but we’re still going. I’ve had an article published in The Guardian. I embarked on a line-by-line edit of my novel Certainty, coincidentally finished just before one of the big London agencies asked to read the full manuscript. I’ve been on holiday overseas yet fastidiously kept to my blogging schedule. It’s been a great distraction.

But I haven’t done one thing that I really should have. Aside from speaking to a couple of One A Dayers (aside from the ones I already knew), I haven’t made much of an effort to get to know my fellow bloggers. Well, that’s going to change. Over the next few weeks I plan to get in contact with the other brave souls still nobly engaged in this just crusade against procrastination, for the purposes of interviewing them and posting the results right here. There are some interesting people who no doubt have compelling stories to tell, and I want to engage more with the community. So watch out Paxman (or rather, the GMTV sofa), I’m gunning for you.

One A Day has already been a big success for me. My writing confidence is way up, even as my stammer continues to frustrate (the living shit out of) me. I can finally see a way out of the endless foggy treadmill of office life. And much of that “up” is because of you, the readers – few in number, but always generous with your time and comments. Thank you very much for your support. There are only 255 entries to go until the end of the year. But even when 2010 is over, I can’t see myself giving this up. Some days I struggle to figure out what to write about until I’m sat at the keyboard, hands poised. But that’s all part of the fun.

1 Comment

Filed under One A Day, Writing

One response to “Status Report

  1. Jen

    Sounds like a good idea to me 🙂

    Glad it’s been such a positive experience for you too! Same here 🙂

Leave a Reply

